One month and twelve days.

That’s how much time I have left here in Denmark. It’s crazy to me how rapidly these past 8 months have gone…after meeting hundreds of people, seeing many new cities, and of course trying countless new things. I have to keep telling myself to simply slow down, look around, and spend each final moment here in the best way possible, because it will be gone sooner than I hope for.

To catch back up, I have taken a month and a half long break from blogging, and so lots has occurred since I last checked it. At the beginning to March, I flew to London in order to visit my close friend Angela, who is studying there this Spring. Angela is one of my closest friends at home from PLU, and we will be living together this summer and next school year. I had a week off of classes, so decided to go stay with her in her room at Goldsmith’s University in New Cross in London. Throughout the week, we caught back up on lost ground, ate lots of greasy pub food, went to different parts of London that I had never been to, like Greenwich and Shoreditch, but mostly just spent time together. It was nice to see a familiar face. We also took a day trip up to Oxford, where another of our friends, Jakob, is studying for the semester. He is also in the house in which we live, and all three of us are also in a band together called Housecats. It was so great to be able to have a British reunion and hang out by some really old buildings.

The weather has only been getting better and better as the months go by, and now, in early April, I am finally experiencing some warm temperatures and rays of sunlight (but also quite a bit of rain). With rain, however, come the flowers. My back garden here is absolutely thriving in flowers, and everywhere I go in Copenhagen I find more and more color, particularly in one of my favorite city parks, ørstedsparken.  With this warm weather, I have also had more opportunities to do more things with my classes, such as with my Danish conversation class. Last Tuesday, my class went to the apartment of the sister of my professor, where there is a lovely roof terrace that we sat on in the afternoon sunshine. Tasting påskeøl (Easter beer) and homemade guacamole, we spoke only Danish, and went to folkekøkken (like a community dinner hall) to have dinner together in Nørrebro. Det var en hyggelig aften og vi spiste lækker øl og drukke fantastisk øl! (It was a cozy evening and we ate delicious food and drank fantastic beer!)

More recently, I traveled to Amsterdam, the Netherlands, with my Prostitution and the Sex Trade class. This was the last week of March, and I had an amazing time studying such a topic in such a city. We went to several different organizations and lectures, as well as museums and events that posed differing opinions and stances in regards to prostitution, and it is safe to say that by the end of the week, my entire class was deeply fatigued, both physically and mentally. It was a phenomenal week and I got to do thing that I never thought I would have the chance to do. I went to the Red Light District every day or night, simply to take advantage of the experiential learning that I could gain by doing such a thing. Even just by walking around and experiencing my being present, I learned so much. We also had the chance to interview people of our choice in Amsterdam, to gain a more holistic perspective. One of my interviews was a man, roughly my age, who was born and raised in Amsterdam, and who has firstand experienced the transition of the city into one known for prostitutes and drugs. His perspective is probably the most important and memorable I gained all week. My class was also provided some amazing meals at different restaurants in Amsterdam, as well as cultural activities like a canal tour and the Van Gogh museum to alleviate the tense course matter that we spent our days speaking about. All in all, a hugely memorable week, filled with revelations and transitions, and more knowledge than I would have ever thought.

Immediately following my return in Amsterdam, I came down with a terrible head cold, and had to miss 2 days of classes while I recovered. Thankfully, I am now much, much better, and ready for my next travel break, beginning on Friday, in which I will be going to……

ICELAND!!!

I have been waiting for this moment for so long it seems! I will be going to Reykjavik, Iceland with a group of DIS students in my class called Viking Sagas. On Iceland, we will be seeing the major cultural sites for the country, as well as archaeological records from the Viking ages, which connects this trip to the class I am taking. Additionally, I will be having my 21st birthday the day after we arrive, so I can proudly claim that I probably had the most memorable birthday of any of my friends! On that day, we will be seeing multiple museums, but also going riding on Icelandic horses for about 3 hours, as well as eating traditional Icelandic delicacies for dinner, such as fermented shark and whale meat! It should prove to be a crazy birthday. Other things we will do/see, include Northern Lights viewing (hopefully!), adventures around the geographic area surrounding Reykjavik, testing out the beers and bars in the capital city, and taking a swim in the Blue Lagoon, the natural hot springs. I will absolutely take many, many pictures, as I consider Iceland to be one of the most beautiful places in the entire world. Get ready to see where I will be adventuring!

Alright, off to eat a delicious meal with my family🙂 Jeg håber det er noget lækkert! (I hope it is something delicious!)

Vi ses, og holde eventyr!

Nice view on the Thames from Greenwich.

Nice view on the Thames from Greenwich.

Masts and ropes.

Masts and ropes.

One tree hill, London.

One tree hill, London.

London, can I go back??

London, can I go back??

Our backpacks are distantly related.

Our backpacks are distantly related.

A usual spot of mine on bike rides.

A usual spot of mine on bike rides.

IMG_4292

The back garden.

The back garden.

Hunter, back at it.

Hunter, back at it.

Amsterdam, reflections.

Amsterdam, reflections.

A canal. Are you surprised?!?

A canal. Are you surprised?!?

A building in Amsterdam. Probably important somehow.

A building in Amsterdam. Probably important somehow.

Amsterdam.

Amsterdam.

Respect sex workers everywhere.

Respect sex workers everywhere.

A deluxe "condomerie", specializing in nearly any imaginable type of condom.

A deluxe “condomerie”, specializing in nearly any imaginable type of condom.

Massive urban green space: Vondel Park.

Massive urban green space: Vondel Park.

A church in the heart of the Red Light District.

A church in the heart of the Red Light District.

This canal really spoke to me.

This canal really spoke to me.

Bicycle, and canal. Best day.

Bicycle, and canal. Best day.

Look at this bike. So fresh.

Look at this bike. So fresh.

Made friends with a duck.

Made friends with a duck.

One of the most gorgeous things I have seen during my time in Europe.

One of the most gorgeous things I have seen during my time in Europe.

Flower blossoms at dusk.

Flower blossoms at dusk.

In Vondel Park. I need a day like this again.

In Vondel Park. I need a day like this again.

POOCH ALERT.

POOCH ALERT.

At "Humanity House" in The Hauge; life as a refugee.

At “Humanity House” in The Hauge; life as a refugee.

IMG_4450

What if YOU lived the life of a refugee?

What if YOU lived the life of a refugee?

Words and words and words.

Words and words and words.

Are words weapons, or are weapons our words?

Are words weapons, or are weapons our words?

Leave a Reply

