Checking back in.

Hello all!

Greetings once again from Copenhagen, Denmark. November is truly setting in here…with the sun rising at 7:30 in the morning and setting at 4:30. In other words, lots of candles lit to illuminate the dark and make it feel perhaps a bit cozier (the elusive Danish term hygge). All is well, however dark & however cold.

Probably the largest piece of news I have to offer you is that I just returned from Lisbon, Portugal! I decided to spend 5 days in the warmer climate, what with the increasing dark of Denmark. Instead of 4-5 degrees Celsius, Lisbon was a beautiful 20 degrees, and the sun shining bright every day! Some of the things that I did there were: take a huge walking tour of the oldest part of the city, called the Alfama district, go out on a nighttime tour of the traditional Portuguese music called Fado (which started with Portuguese women lamenting at the absence of their husbands who as sailors had gone out to sea), and take a little journey to a city just outside of Lisbon, called Sintra (one of the coolest places I have ever been to, with a very fairytale-like atmosphere, and where I had the opportunity to sample traditional port wine, a sour cherry liquor called ginginha out of a chocolate cup, and adventure around caverns under a palace). I also got to see what was called the “Thieves Market” which was a huge flea market, sample the delicious custard pastries called Pastéis de Belém, and go on a really enjoyable pub crawl through the nightlife district of Bairro Alto. Also, I got to go to a really cool beach town just outside of Lisbon called Cascais, where we spent the afternoon laying in the sand and walking through the water. All in all, a very enjoyable adventure in Portugal.
We also recently had what was considered the worst storm in Denmark’s history! For about 4 hours, roughly 80 mph winds came through Copenhagen, falling trees and roof panels littering the streets, people stranded in the city due to the trains not running, and rain flooding the streets. It was exciting, however frightening, to say the least.
Also, I went to a concert for a band I love called Local Natives, who are from Los Angeles. Actually, before the concert, I was simply walking to my train to catch to get home after class, and I ran into the lead singer walking along the street, so I decided to go up and talk to him. He was such a nice guy, and convinced me to go to their concert! So I went, loved it, and afterwards, the same guy gave me his guitar pick! A very crazy but awesome day.
Other than those exciting things, I’ve just been adjusting to the weather, having a cold or two, but still getting out there to do new things. Thanksgiving is coming soon as well; it will be very different to not be surrounded by family and instead having a Danish Thanksgiving, but at least I will get most of the same foods!
Until next time, keep adventuring!
Rossio Square in Lisbon.
Rossio Square in Lisbon.
The narrow streets of Alfama.
The narrow streets of Alfama.
One of the best views in the city (with Arabelle).
One of the best views in the city (with Arabelle).
Walking tour in Lisbon.
Walking tour in Lisbon.
I love these colors.
I love these colors.
Natural water fountain in Sintra!
Natural water fountain in Sintra!
Sintra.
Sintra.
Tiles, tiles, tiles.
Tiles, tiles, tiles.
Flora and fauna of Sintra.
Flora and fauna of Sintra.
My snail friend in Sintra.
My snail friend in Sintra.
The lovely view in Sintra.
The lovely view in Sintra.
Sunset at the Westernmost point of continental Europe.
Sunset at the Westernmost point of continental Europe.
Words can't describe this.
Words can’t describe this.
Never thought I would see this in person.
Never thought I would see this in person.
Arabelle and Luke.
Arabelle and Luke.
I could get used to this place.
I could get used to this place.
Cascais, amazing beach.
Cascais, amazing beach.
Can you tell I love the ocean?
Can you tell I love the ocean?
R.I.P. jellyfish.
R.I.P. jellyfish.
Too scared to take pictures outside during the storm.
Too scared to take pictures outside during the storm.
Obligatory picture of Hunter.
Obligatory picture of Hunter.

 

Leave a Reply

