Long time, no post.

I apologize for my lack of posting, but I’ve just been terribly busy these last couple of weeks! So, I’ll attempt to get you up to date on all of the latest things happening in my Danish life.

I’ve had 2 weeks of classes now. I am currently in a week in which I only take my “core” class, or the class that I am centering this semester around, which is called European Sustainable Development. We talk about renewable energy, energy efficiency, etc., and we as a class are actually traveling to Western Denmark in 2 days time, where we will be visiting an eco-village, wave energy company, and the second largest city in Denmark called Arhus. I’m looking forward to seeing another part of this country that I haven’t seen before.

On a side note, I looked it up today, and apparently the entire country of Denmark is only the size of New Hampshire in the US. Shocking, coming from a country as big as the States…

I’m also taking classes called Renewable Energy Systems (very difficult), How Plants Changed World History (super cool!), Food Systems: Ecology, Economy, and Ethics (very intriguing), and Danish Language (I LOVE languages). They are all going very good, and it’s nice to have some education again after a summer without.

I went on a day trip yesterday with some other DIS students. We went to one of Denmark’s largest forests, Hareskov, and did some intense terrain biking. Because of the lack of mountains, it was more considered “hill” biking, but still very, very enjoyable. It was an adrenaline rush at times, and a beautiful area of Denmark to see.

I also went to an International Food Festival in Copenhagen, on the island of Amager. I am a huge fan of festivals, especially when they are centered upon food! There were hundreds of booths and thousands of people, and it was a very fun afternoon. I ate beetroot soup with goat’s milk cream and shallots, a red curry chicken plate with rice, and some wonderful blackberry/strawberry lemonade. All in all, a truly gastronomic day.

Speaking of gastronomy, I just today discovered that my family has raspberry plants in their garden, just beginning to be ready to be picked! I know where I’ll be spending my time…

Other than that, I’ve just been keeping up on schoolwork and continuing to develop all of my new friendships with both Americans and Danes alike. I adventured around the neighborhood where the DIS buildings are located, and I found several really cool secondhand stores, delicious pizza places (pizza is the closest thing to my heart), the cheapest (yet yummy) coffee shop I could find, and best of all, St. Peter’s Bakery: my very own Garden of Eden. Their cinnamon rolls (much flatter than American style), which they call Snails, might just be my favorite snack ever.

It may be a while before my next post, but stay tuned for more!

Cool cemetery right by my house.

Cool cemetery right by my house.

One of the many horse and rider statues in the city.

One of the many horse and rider statues in the city.

Bicycle, flower, harbor.

Bicycle, flower, harbor.

Harbor between the main island and Christianshavn.

Harbor between the main island and Christianshavn.

Purposefully shattered glass by harbor.

Purposefully shattered glass by harbor.

Probably my favorite photo I've taken in Cope.

Probably my favorite photo I’ve taken in Cope.

Really old, really beautiful church/cathedral.

Really old, really beautiful church/cathedral.

Cheesy Luke and the quintessential image of Copenhagen: Nyhavn.

Cheesy Luke and the quintessential image of Copenhagen: Nyhavn.

My first bite of flødebolle.

My first bite of flødebolle.

Peeking through the foliage in Christiania on Christianshavn.

Peeking through the foliage in Christiania on Christianshavn.

Neat curved rooftop adorned with vegetation of a home in Christiania.

Neat curved rooftop adorned with vegetation of a home in Christiania.

Glass walled theatre next to old brick building on Amager.

Glass walled theatre next to old brick building on Amager.

Hareskov Forest: perfect riding conditions.

Hareskov Forest: perfect riding conditions.

The bike that carried me all day.

The bike that carried me all day.

Wonderful lake in the forest, used for rowing events.

Wonderful lake in the forest, used for rowing events.

Leave a Reply

