My first full day.

Roses in front of Rosenborg Castle

Roses in front of Rosenborg Castle

King's Gardens

King’s Gardens

The Danish flag

The Danish flag

King's Gardens

King’s Gardens

The S-tog train system

The S-tog train system

After roughly 12 hours of much-needed sleep, I finally had the opportunity to venture into the heart of Copenhagen, something I had been waiting for for months.

Taking a mode of transportation called the S-tog train (which connects the suburbs of Copenhagen with the city center, with myself and my host family residing in the suburb of Tåstrup), and using a Klippekort (a punch card of sorts), I made my way down into the center of the city, excited to see what it had to offer me.

I found the main buildings, offices, and classrooms of DIS that I will be using for the next 9 months, and I also walked down the entirety of the popular street named Strøget, which is only for use by pedestrians. Additionally, I walked to a park called King’s Gardens which houses Rosenborg Castle, a castle once used by the royalty of Denmark.

I also got my first taste of Copenhagen’s “bicycle culture”. Men, women, and children sped past me on their bicycles as I made my way around the city, causing me to examine the bicycle routes, paths, and ways in which such modes of transportation were integrated into such a large city. I will definitely have to try out this “bicycle culture” first hand when I get the chance.

Overall, I had a wonderful first full day in Copenhagen examining the city I will call home, observing the effectiveness and usability of the S-tog system, and seeing firsthand the advantages and importance of the “bicycle culture”. There will surely be a lot more adventuring in the future, so I will cut this entry off here. Time to have a delicious Danish meal and then off to bed for more much-needed sleep.

Until next time, keep adventuring.

Leave a Reply

